Making Curriculum Pop

Hello Friends!!!

My name is Justin Pedersen.  I am a student studying English at Aurora University, and I plan to one day teach high school English.  I was asked to construct a unit/theme that correlates with the subject area I wish to teach.  For this unit I wanted to center it on creative writing.  I am writing to ask for some help in gathering ideas about teaching creative writing to a high school classroom.  I need to make this unit POP!  In order to do this, I need sufficient advice/suggestions to make a creative writing unit POP!  Any input on ideas that differentiate poetry, fiction/non-fiction writing, and any other areas of creative writing will be helpful.

I want to make my unit not only differentiated, but also want to incorporate media/technology outlets for students to utilize.  I have done some initial research on how to integrate media/technology literacy with a lesson on creative writing, but I am always looking for further suggestions.  Again, I hope to create a very unique and integrated lesson, so please feel free to drop me advice, links, and any other source of information to help me on my journey!

Thanks to all, and best wishes:

Justin R. Pedersen

Views: 56

Replies to This Discussion

well I always alternate between music and poems. I analyze songs as if they are poetry and the students respond to that very well. Then if I pick a specific theme or themes I can do two things. Ask students to pick one song that addresses the themes and write an essay on it (talk about the artist, summarize the song, identify themes, and three literary elements and explain how the elements enhance the song). The other idea is ask the students to create a playlist/mixed cd where they choose songs that address the chosen themes and they need to provide the cd, lyrics and a paragraph or 1/2 page about each song and how it connects to the theme (lyric lines must be included in the paragraph).